Best Generators with 256Wh: 7 Spec-Based Picks
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Finding the best generators with 256Wh requires comparing strict specifications. This guide analyzes 7 models based on published listing data. The EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 256Wh Power Station leads because it offers rapid 60-minute AC recharging in a compact 7.72-pound shell. Each pick targets specific needs, from solar kits to lightweight USB charging. You will see how wattage, battery chemistry, and dimensions affect real-world use. Use these spec-based comparisons to decide which unit fits your mobile power requirements.
Quick picks
The best fit for you
- You need rapid recharging for mobile use EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 256Wh Power Station The 60-minute AC recharge time suits fast turnaround needs.
- You want the lightest model for travel Jackery Explorer 240D 256Wh LiFePO4 It weighs only 4.85 pounds, making it the lightest option.
- You need a ready-to-use solar kit Dyness 300W 256Wh with 100W Panel It includes a 100W foldable panel for immediate off-grid use.
- You require fast backup switching for work ALLPOWERS Volix 256Wh Power Station The sub-20ms switching time protects sensitive electronics during outages.
Our 7 picks
EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 256Wh Power Station
Best for: rapid recharging and lightweight mobile power
- Capacity
- 256Wh (what this guide is about)
- Running Wattage
- 300W
- Fuel Type
- Battery
- Battery Chemistry
- LiFePO4
- Application
- Camping, Home, Outdoor, RV
- Dimensions
- 9.6 × 8.4 × 5.5 inches
The EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 is a compact 256Wh portable power station built with an LFP battery pack. It delivers 300W of continuous power with an output boost up to 600W to run up to six devices. At 7.72 pounds and featuring a one-hour AC wall recharge time, it suits you if you need rapid turnaround between off-grid stops.
Pros
- Full AC wall recharge in 1 hour
- LFP battery rated for over 3,000 cycles to 80% capacity
- Lightweight 7.72-pound design with built-in handle
- 5-year service coverage included
Cons
- 300W continuous output limits use of high-draw appliances
- Car 12V charging cable not listed in box contents
Good fit if
- You need a fast 60-minute recharge from standard AC power.
- You prioritize long lifespan with 3,000-plus LFP battery cycles.
- You need a portable unit weighing under 8 pounds.
Skip if
- You run appliances requiring over 300W of continuous power.
- You need more than 256Wh of capacity for multiday off-grid use.
Verdict: EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 256Wh Power Station fits mobile users who need fast 60-minute AC recharging and durable LFP cycling in an easily packable 7.72-pound shell.
ALLWEI 300W 256Wh LiFePO4 Power Station
Best for: lightweight mobile camping and emergency backup
- Capacity
- 256Wh (what this guide is about)
- Running Wattage
- 300 W
- Surge Wattage
- 600 W
- Battery Chemistry
- LiFePO4
- Output Ports
- 1 AC, 2 DC5521, 1 car port, 2 USB
- Application
- Camping, Home, Outdoor, Emergency
This portable power station provides 256Wh of LiFePO4 capacity with 300W continuous output and 600W peak surge. At 6.4 pounds, you get six output ports, including a 60W USB-C PD port and one pure sine wave AC outlet. It suits you if you need a durable, lightweight power hub for small electronics during camping trips or home outages.
Pros
- LiFePO4 battery rated for 3,000 charge-discharge cycles
- Dual AC and solar recharging reaches full capacity in 2 to 2.5 hours
- Supports pass-through charging to run devices while recharging
- Lightweight build weighs 6.4 pounds
Cons
- Provides only one AC outlet
- USB-C output is limited to 60W
- Data does not mention companion app support
Good fit if
- You need a 6.4-pound portable power source for off-grid trips.
- You want rapid dual recharging via combined wall and solar input.
- You operate low-draw devices up to 300W continuous power.
Skip if
- You need to power multiple AC wall plugs simultaneously.
- You require 100W USB-C power delivery for high-draw laptops.
Verdict: ALLWEI 256Wh 300W Portable Power Station is built for campers and travelers who need long-cycle LiFePO4 battery life in a sub-7-pound enclosure. Its combined AC and solar recharging speeds up turnaround times when operating off-grid.
Dyness 300W 256Wh with 100W Panel
Best for: campers needing a solar kit
- Capacity
- 256Wh (what this guide is about)
- Running Wattage
- 300W
- Fuel Type
- Battery
- Battery Chemistry
- LiFePO4
- Voltage
- 110V
- Solar Panel Wattage
- 100W
The Dyness PPS300-4 is a 256Wh portable power station with 300W continuous output. It includes a 100W foldable solar panel for off-grid charging. The LiFePO4 battery ensures long cycle life. You get six output ports, including one AC outlet, USB-C, USB-A, two DC outputs, and a car outlet. Its compact dimensions of 9.3 by 5 by 6.8 inches make it easy to carry for camping or emergency backup.
Pros
- Includes a 100W foldable solar panel
- LiFePO4 battery chemistry for durability
- Six output ports for multiple devices
- 300W continuous AC power
Cons
- Lower 300W output than some competitors
- Smaller 256Wh capacity limits runtime
- No display or app mentioned in data
Good fit if
- You need a complete solar charging kit
- You prioritize long battery cycle life
- You require multiple output types
Skip if
- You need high wattage for heavy appliances
- You want maximum energy capacity
- You prefer digital monitoring features
Verdict: Dyness 300W 256Wh Solar Generator is a solid choice for campers who want a ready-to-use solar kit. It suits users who value battery longevity over raw power output.
ALLPOWERS Volix 256Wh Power Station
Best for: fast laptop charging and desktop UPS backup
- Capacity
- 256Wh (what this guide is about)
- Running Wattage
- 300W
- Surge Wattage
- 600W
- Battery Chemistry
- LiFePO4
- Output Ports
- 1 AC, 1 USB-C, 2 USB-A, 1 car socket
- Dimensions
- 10.2 × 8.26 × 4.92 inches
This portable power station provides 256Wh of LiFePO4 battery capacity with a 300W pure sine wave inverter and 600W surge. You get five output ports, including a 100W USB-C port and a single AC outlet. Recharging takes two hours via AC power. It suits you if you need compact emergency backup for small electronics or light camping gear.
Pros
- Rated for over 4,000 LiFePO4 battery cycles
- Fast 2-hour AC wall recharging
- 100W USB-C Power Delivery port
- Uninterruptible power supply switchover under 20ms
- Six-year manufacturer warranty coverage
Cons
- Provides only one AC outlet
- Solar charging input capped at 110W
- Companion mobile app support is not mentioned
Good fit if
- You need 100W USB-C output to recharge modern laptops directly.
- You want automatic under-20ms emergency power switching for routers or office electronics.
- You prioritize long cell life rated for over 4,000 cycles.
Skip if
- You need to run multiple AC appliances at the same time.
- You operate equipment requiring more than 300W continuous output.
Verdict: ALLPOWERS 300W LiFePO4 Power Station delivers 256Wh of off-grid capacity with fast two-hour recharging and sub-20ms backup switching. It fits mobile workers and campers running small electronics who want high cycle life in a 7.87-pound package.
Anker 521 256Wh Portable Power Station
Best for: Short outdoor trips and device charging
- Capacity
- 256Wh (what this guide is about)
- Running Wattage
- 300W
- Surge Wattage
- 600W
- Fuel Type
- Battery
- Battery Chemistry
- LiFePO4
- Output Ports
- 2 AC, 2 USB-A, 1 USB-C, 1 car outlet
The Anker 521 offers 256Wh of LiFePO4 battery capacity and 300W continuous output, peaking at 600W. It features six ports: two AC, two USB-A, one USB-C, and one car outlet. Weighing 8.16 pounds and measuring 8.5 by 5.67 by 8.33 inches, it fits easily in a car or backpack. This unit suits outdoor enthusiasts who need reliable power for small appliances and multiple devices during camping trips or tailgating.
Pros
- LiFePO4 battery chemistry for long lifespan
- 600W surge power for high-demand devices
- Six output ports including AC and USB-C
- Compact dimensions at 8.5 inches long
Cons
- Only 256Wh capacity limits runtime
- 300W running wattage restricts large appliances
- No solar panel included in package
Good fit if
- You need to charge multiple devices simultaneously
- You want a lightweight unit under 9 pounds
- You require AC outlets for small electronics
Skip if
- You need to power high-wattage tools
- You require extended off-grid camping days
- You prefer a larger battery capacity
Verdict: Anker 521 Portable Power Station provides essential 256Wh capacity for short outdoor trips. It fits users who prioritize portability and multiple charging options over long runtime.
Jackery Explorer 240D 256Wh DC Power Station
Best for: lightweight USB-C device charging
- Capacity
- 256Wh (what this guide is about)
- Running Wattage
- 200W
- Battery Chemistry
- LiFePO4
- Output Ports
- 3x USB-C, 1x USB-A
- Dimensions
- 4.19 × 4.73 × 6.69 inches
View on Amazon: Jackery Explorer 240D 256Wh DC Power Station
The Jackery Explorer 240D is a 256Wh portable power station with a 200W pure DC output. It uses LiFePO4 battery chemistry for long-term durability. The unit weighs 4.85 lbs and measures 4.73 x 6.69 x 4.19 inches. It includes a USB-C cable that doubles as a carrying strap. This compact design suits users needing lightweight, high-efficiency power for small electronics.
Pros
- 256Wh LiFePO4 battery capacity
- 200W pure DC output
- 4.85 lbs lightweight build
- Includes USB-C carrying strap
Cons
- Only 200W output limits high-wattage devices
- No AC outlets available
- No LCD display shown in data
Good fit if
- You need a lightweight power source for USB-C devices
- You want a durable LiFePO4 battery
- You prioritize portability over AC power
Skip if
- You require AC outlets for standard appliances
- You need more than 200W of power
- You want to power devices requiring higher wattage
Verdict: Jackery Explorer 240D 256Wh Power Bank fits users who prioritize lightweight portability and USB-C efficiency over AC versatility.
Jackery Explorer 240D 256Wh LiFePO4
Best for: Lightweight USB device charging on the go
- Capacity
- 256Wh (what this guide is about)
- Running Wattage
- 200W
- Battery Chemistry
- LiFePO4
- Output Ports
- 4 ports (3*USB-C, 1*USB-A)
- Dimensions
- 4.73 × 6.69 × 4.19 inches
- Weight
- 4.85 pounds
The Jackery Explorer 240D is a compact 256Wh power bank with a 200W pure DC output. It uses a LiFePO4 battery rated for 10 years. The unit weighs 4.85 pounds and includes a 2-in-1 USB-C strap cable. It supports solar, car, and AC charging. This model suits users needing lightweight, durable power for travel or emergency backup without the bulk of traditional AC inverters.
Pros
- 256Wh LiFePO4 battery capacity
- 200W pure DC output
- 4.85 pounds lightweight design
- 10-year battery lifespan
- Includes 2-in-1 USB-C strap cable
Cons
- No AC outlets available
- Only 1 USB-A port included
- Lacks display for real-time monitoring
Good fit if
- You need a lightweight power source for travel
- You want a long-lasting LiFePO4 battery
- You primarily charge USB devices
Skip if
- You require AC power for appliances
- You need multiple USB-A ports
- You want to monitor power usage visually
Verdict: Jackery Explorer 240D Power Bank fits travelers who prioritize weight savings and battery longevity over AC versatility. It is ideal for USB-centric gear rather than home backup.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 256Wh Power Station | ALLWEI 300W 256Wh LiFePO4 Power Station | Dyness 300W 256Wh with 100W Panel | ALLPOWERS Volix 256Wh Power Station | Anker 521 256Wh Portable Power Station | Jackery Explorer 240D 256Wh DC Power Station | Jackery Explorer 240D 256Wh LiFePO4 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Running Wattage | 300W | 300 W | 300W | 300W | 300W | 200W | 200W |
| Surge Wattage | not specified | 600 W | not specified | 600W | 600W | not specified | not specified |
| Capacity | 256Wh | 256 Wh | 256Wh | 256Wh | 256Wh | 256Wh | 256Wh |
| Fuel Type | Battery | not specified | Battery | not specified | Battery | not specified | not specified |
| Battery Chemistry | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 |
| Output Ports | not specified | 1 AC, 2 DC5521, 1 car port, 2 USB | not specified | 1 AC, 1 USB-C, 2 USB-A, 1 car socket | 2 AC, 2 USB-A, 1 USB-C, 1 car outlet | 3x USB-C, 1x USB-A | 4 ports (3*USB-C, 1*USB-A) |
| Voltage | not specified | not specified | 110V | not specified | not specified | not specified | not specified |
| Solar Panel Wattage | not specified | not specified | 100W | not specified | not specified | not specified | not specified |
| Wattage | 300W | 300W | 300W | 300W | 300W | 200W | not specified |
| Application | Camping, Home, Outdoor, RV | Camping, Home, Outdoor, Emergency | Camping, Home, Outdoor, RV | not specified | Outdoor | not specified | not specified |
| Features | not specified | AC Outlet | AC Outlet | not specified | not specified | not specified | not specified |
| Panel Type | not specified | not specified | Foldable | not specified | not specified | not specified | not specified |
| Dimensions | 9.6 × 8.4 × 5.5 inches | 9 × 4.7 × 7.8 inches | 9.3 × 5 × 6.8 inches | 10.2 × 8.26 × 4.92 inches | 8.5 × 5.67 × 8.33 inches | 4.19 × 4.73 × 6.69 inches | 4.73 × 6.69 × 4.19 inches |
| Weight | 7.72 pounds | 6.4 pounds | not specified | 7.87 pounds | 8.16 pounds | not specified | 4.85 pounds |
| Size | RIVER 2 Power Station | 9"L x 4.7"W x 7.8"H | 256Wh 300W + 100W Solar Panel | not specified | 8.5"L x 5.67"W x 8.33"H | not specified | not specified |
| Color | RIVER 2 Power Station | Black | 300W-256Wh | P300(NEW) | Black | not specified | Black |
| Model | EFR600 | PPS300-4 | PPS300-4 | VOLIX P300 | A1720 | JE-300E | JE-240B |
If you require larger watt-hour storage for heavier demands, review the best generators under 1500 for higher output limits.
How to choose the right 256Wh power station
-
Check battery chemistry type
LiFePO4 batteries offer significantly longer cycle life than standard lithium-ion cells. Most models in this guide use LiFePO4 chemistry for durability. The EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 and ALLWEI unit both feature this robust chemistry. This means you can recharge them hundreds of times without significant capacity loss. If you plan to use the station frequently for camping or backup, prioritize this chemistry. It ensures the unit remains reliable over several years of regular use.
-
Match wattage to devices
Most units here provide 300W of continuous output. This handles small appliances and electronics easily. The Jackery Explorer 240D limits you to 200W. This lower limit suits only lightweight USB-C devices. It cannot run small appliances. Choose the 300W models if you need versatility. Reserve the 200W option strictly for phones and tablets. Higher wattage gives you more flexibility for running fans or laptops without tripping the overload protection.
-
Consider recharge speed
Recharging time varies significantly between models. The EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 recharges in just 60 minutes via AC. This is ideal for mobile users who need quick turnarounds. Other units may take longer to fill the 256Wh capacity. If you are on a tight schedule or need to top up quickly between trips, look for fast AC input specs. Rapid recharging reduces downtime and keeps your power source ready for the next outing.
-
Evaluate weight and size
Portability depends on weight and dimensions. The Jackery Explorer 240D LiFePO4 weighs only 4.85 pounds. It is the lightest option here. The EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 weighs 7.72 pounds. The ALLWEI unit is 6.4 pounds. If you carry the station in a backpack, choose the lighter model. The Anker 521 is slightly heavier at 8.16 pounds. Compare the dimensions to ensure it fits your gear. Smaller units are easier to pack but may have fewer ports.
-
Look for included solar panels
Some kits include solar panels for off-grid recharging. The Dyness model comes with a 100W foldable panel. This is useful for campers who want a complete solar setup. You can recharge the 256Wh capacity using sunlight. If you plan to stay off-grid for days, a solar kit is practical. Other models require you to buy panels separately. Check if the panel type matches your needs. Foldable panels are easier to transport and set up in the field.
Frequently asked questions
What is the lightest 256Wh power station available?
The Jackery Explorer 240D LiFePO4 weighs just 4.85 pounds. It is the lightest option in this selection. This compact design prioritizes weight savings for travelers. It focuses on lightweight USB-C device charging rather than heavy AC versatility. You can easily carry it for short trips without adding significant bulk to your gear.
Which 256Wh model recharges the fastest?
The EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 256Wh Power Station recharges in 60 minutes via AC. This rapid turnaround suits mobile users who need quick power boosts. It delivers 300W of output in a 7.72-pound shell. The fast charging capability makes it ideal for situations where downtime must be minimized.
Does any 256Wh generator include a solar panel?
Yes, the Dyness 300W 256Wh Solar Generator includes a 100W foldable solar panel. It is a ready-to-use kit for campers who value battery longevity. The unit features LiFePO4 chemistry for durable cycling. This combination allows you to generate power directly from sunlight while camping outdoors.
Which 256Wh station is best for laptop UPS backup?
The ALLPOWERS Volix 256Wh Power Station offers fast two-hour recharging and sub-20ms backup switching. It fits mobile workers needing desktop UPS backup. The 300W output handles small electronics efficiently. Its 7.87-pound package provides high cycle life for reliable off-grid capacity during power outages.
Are all 256Wh models LiFePO4 batteries?
Most models in this list use LiFePO4 chemistry for longer cycle life. The ALLWEI, Dyness, Anker, and Jackery Explorer 240D LiFePO4 all feature this durable battery type. However, the EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 and ALLPOWERS Volix data does not explicitly specify their chemistry. Check the full listing if battery type is critical for your specific use case.
What is the lowest wattage output among these 256Wh units?
The Jackery Explorer 240D DC Power Station has the lowest output at 200W. All other listed models provide 300W. You should choose the 200W unit only if you prioritize lightweight portability and USB-C efficiency. It is not suitable for running small appliances that require higher continuous power.
Which 256Wh station is best for USB-C charging?
The Anker 521 256Wh Portable Power Station is highlighted for its USB-C output. It provides essential capacity for short outdoor trips. The unit prioritizes portability and multiple charging options. It fits users who need to charge devices quickly without relying on AC outlets for their primary power source.
How do the dimensions of these 256Wh stations compare?
Dimensions vary significantly across the models. The Jackery Explorer 240D LiFePO4 measures 4.73 inches long, making it very compact. The ALLPOWERS Volix is larger at 10.2 inches long. The EF EcoFlow RIVER 2 sits in the middle at 9.6 inches. Choose based on whether you need a slim profile or a wider base for stability.






